Farewell Grandpa

Last week Thursday night Vancouver time my grandpa left this world to be with his Savior.  He was 91 years old and was a follower of Christ.  We of course are sad and will miss him greatly.  But because of the death and resurrection of Christ, we do not mourn as those without hope.

Grandpa came to know Christ later in life, maybe in his 50’s(?).  He was no theologian or scholar, but he would always freely attribute everything he has in life, including my grandma, to God’s grace.  God preserved his life through 2 major wars, one against the Japanese during WWII and one against the Communist Party in China.  He was badly wounded several times, but miraculously survived.  Later, after my grandparents moved to Taiwan, they again experienced many hardships.  But when looking back he would always say it was God’s grace that carried them through.  He was very conscious of evidences of God’s faithfulness and kindness in his life.  I loved that about Grandpa.

I grew up with my grandparents and practically lived with them or in very close proximity to them until just a few years ago.  I will miss Grandpa very much, his smiles, his famous sayings, his love for food, his deep and rough voice, his Shandong accent…

If you can read Chinese, check out my Dad’s tribute to Grandpa .

Mark and I are traveling to Vancouver this week.  Please lift up my family, especially my Grandma, during this time.  We miss him, but we praise God for all He has done in Grandpa’s life and for taking him home.

One thought on “Farewell Grandpa

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your grandfather. I rejoice with you that he is face to face with his Savior (and that you will see him again). It sounds like he lived a very full life and had the right perspective. What a beautiful tribute to him.

Leave a Reply

